Internet Information Service

Microsoft’s web server first started as a research project at the European Microsoft Windows NT Academic Center (EMWAC) in Edinburgh, Scotland. However since the EMWAC server had a handicap of handling large volumes of web traffic going through, the company was forced to develop its own web server IIS. 

Below are versions of IIS with their corresponding Windows editions;

– IIS 1.0 – Initially released as a free add-on package for Windows NT 3.5.1

– IIS 2.0 – Included with Windows NT 4.0

– IIS 3.0 – Deployed with Service Park 2 of Windows NT.40, a new feature called Active Server Pages    dynamic scripting environment was introduced.

– IIS 4.0 – Released as part of the “Option Pack” for Windows NT 4.0, the new MMC-based administration was introduced.

– IIS 5.0 – Deployed with Windows 2000 with additional authentication methods, support for the WebDAV protocol and enhancements to ASP. Support for Gopher protocol was dropped in IIS 5.0

– IIS 5.1 – Shipped with Windows XP Professional, this is version identical to IIS 5.0 in Windows 2000

– IIS 6.0 – Included with Windows Server 2003 and Win XP Pro x64, support for IPv6 and a new worker process model that increased reliability as well as security.

– IIS 7.0 – Complete redesign and rewrite of IIS shipped with Windows Vista and Server 2008. A new modular design increased performance and reduced attack surface. Other features such as simpler site deploys using hierarchical configuration system, new command line management and support for .NET Framework were also introduced.

IIS 7.0 on Vista does not limit the number of allowed connection requests as seen in Windows XP. Concurrent requests are limited to 10 in Vista Ultimate, Business and Enterprise Editions or 3 in Vista Home Premium.

– IIS 7.5 – WebDAV and FTP modules were improved in this version as well as command-line administration in PowerShell. Support for TLS 1.1, TLS 1.2, and Best Practices Analyser tool and process isolation for application pools were introduced.

– IIS 8.0 – This version is only available in Windows Server 2012 and Windows 8. Several new features such as Application Initialization, Centralized SSL certificate, SNI (binding SSL to hostnames rather than IP addresses) and multicore scaling on NUMA hardware were introduced.

– IIS 8.5 – Shipped with Windows Server 2012 and Windows 8.1, this version includes Dynamic Site Activation, Idle worker-Process page-out, Enhanced Logging, ETW logging and Automatic Certificate Rebind.

– IIS 10 – The latest version of IIS comes with Windows Server 2016 and Windows 10 with support for HTTP/2.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Reply